Grammar Blog: Week 4: Sentenced to Sentence.

Standard

In an absolute cliche opening to a post asking a question about something most people know, I will reveal the dictionary definition of a sentence, or this title will make even less sense than it already does.

Grammar. a grammatical unit of one or more words that expresses an independent statement, question, request, command, exclamation,etc., and that typically has a subject as well as a predicate, as in Johnis here. or Is John here? In print or writing, a sentence typically begins with a capital letter and ends with appropriate punctuation; in speech it displays recognizable, communicative intonation patterns and is oftenmarked by preceding and following pauses.

So we/I know what a sentence does. I guess we’re done. Thanks for reading.

Looks like I’ve lost my elevator music.

While I’m looking for that, let me think about sentences.

It’s about communication. It’s not a terribly great revelation, unfortunately.

That being said, the order does matter. Sentences are methods by which we exchange information with one another while retaining the subject, verb, and object. Every sentence should have a purpose and if we’re lucky, each sentence is indeed conveying a new kind of information.

Otherwise, the sentence is redundant. I’m pretty sure my sentences only deliver the most up to date information. Yes, my sentences, they only deliver the most critical of words and the most rigorously set standard of new information. These, my words, are only capable of sending relevant and refreshed info- giphy

I must also say, I’ve used Grammarly for this post, and I’ve only been called out on four errors.If we’re going by the blog standard, I must have earned a triple platinum credit card by now.

No, I don’t know how those two thoughts are related to the subject at hand, but I would certainly love a triple platinum credit card. It must have three times the platinum!

Where would we be without the order imposed on us by English Grammar and sentence structure?

Know don’t I.

End post the of coming is.

Elevator, is oh here music

tumblr_m4y9xixpd91r2c05t

Leave a Reply

