Listen to me Read if you Dare

Standard

All credit goes to John Scalzi for this. I only read it. Just ignore the blatant verbal stumbles and sound effects in the background. Oh hell, in fact, just listen to my dulcet tones in the car wherever you need to go. If my reading voice has been called anything, it’s been described as “uplifting.”

I don’t know what it’s like being poor.

I don’t.

I was raised in a wonderful household and I have my parents to thank. The closest experience I do have is when I did actually go to a friend’s house who was poor. Or better yet, when they would come to my house and ask me if I were rich (really I’m not). I had a living room with a fucking T.V in it and game console connected, and that seemed to really change my friends’ perceptions of me.

I read the post because it didn’t apply to me necessarily, but it seemed to bring back a time when it applied to everyone else but me.

I read the post because I didn’t know what being poor really meant.

I read the post because I liked the author’s work.

I read the post because repetition is a powerful tool.

I read the post because I wanted to vicariously live through another man’s work because I’ve known someone who has been through the same thing.

I read the post because I wanted to experience a view other than my own.

I read the post because I wanted to write this post.

I read the post because despite it not happening to me, it’s easy to imagine it happening to someone else.

I read the post to confirm I have empathy.

I read the post because I wanted to believe I had empathy.

I read the post to make you feel empathy.

I read the post because I’m a college student and I want to believe my English degree means something.

I read the post because I wanted other people to read it too.

One thought on “Listen to me Read if you Dare

Leave a Reply

