Pop Up Part 3: How I Learned to Pop Up: The Re Popening.

Standard

Alternate Title Thoughts: Pop Up E3. Popping Straight Up : How I Learned to Write Like an Old White Dude From the Forties. Pop Up (Pun Intended…WITH A VENGEANCE).

Writing is hard.

More?

Okay. Sports writing is also hard.

In the articles I usually read, statistical analysis is at forefront and story narrative is at the back burner at best. I usually find that articles which are simply about providing a more “human” narrative are often lacking in any kind of interesting or varied information. Playing the game the “right way” means a sports writer is complaining about how baseball isn’t played like it was in the old days. The wrong way being players showing emotion after a tremendous play or a close victory. In my experience, human narratives like those usually involve those right way and wrong way cliches, and I have little time or patience for reading about a writing yelling at kids to get off his proverbial baseball diamond shaped lawn.

But anyway, I suppose I should stop criticizing and start learning.

While baseball writing trends toward the romantic, that does not mean it’s useless. There are times when it can be poignant. There are fascinating human interest stories that actually do humanize their subject matter. Such as this one about Cuban baseball player Yasiel Puig. Yes that was a total shout out because, yes, as mentioned before I’m a Dodgers Fan.

I am emotional about the game when I’m watching it. Just because I embrace logic and statistical analysis for player evaluations, does not mean I am immune to the emotional turbulence of watching my favorite team play. It involves screaming profanities and clapping really hard. In fact, during playoff time, I am reduced to an imitation of myself that only knows “fuck,””shit,” or one of my favorites “fucking bullshit.” It’s really a treat if you have always wanted to see me lose my shit on an inning by inning basis.

ARGHHHH!

ARGHHHH!

Oh where was I?

Yes, baseball writing.

Well anyway, I know that emotional appeals using baseball and its players as the subject makes it easier to manipulate the audience. That’s why sports writers write the way they do. While I prefer to read something like this, and not something like this. The latter can include intriguing and thought provoking narratives, such as the Yasiel Puig article.

I also learned by reading other blog posts that there are other pieces writing too. For one, I found Tara’s post on game writing by Bioware’s lead writer, David Gaider, to be fascinating as I’ve always been interested to see how actual games are written. Especially by one of my favorite video game RPG (Role Playing Game. I do speak a little alien from time to time too, I guess.) companies. It’s a field I have always been interested in and to see how different it is from the other more conventional types of writing was really an enlightening read.

I also must thank whoever thought of this moment and whoever put this in. An amazing moment.

What can I say? I learned from myself and all of you. So thanks me and thank you too. I can only hope I was as informative as I was bloggy (Just wait for the urbandictionary entry).

Leave a Reply

